UnderGround Forums

Judo/Sambo UnderGround >> ko uchi gari to koshi guruma ?

2/28/12 11:47 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Judo Scott
9 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm no rocket scientist (and my judo sensei is gone) so please bear with my dumb question.

At any rate I was playing with koshi guruma at bjj tonight. I noticed if I try a ko uchi gari and they step back to avoid it they are in a perfect position to go for the koshi guruma. It seemed to work a few times.

Is this dumb? common? thoughts?

thanks
2/29/12 12:24 AM
nowaydo
27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I think almost any forward throw would work after the Kouchi.
2/29/12 6:56 PM
judoblackbelt
19 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Usually Kouchi is followed up with ouchi gari especially in BJJ where taking the opponent backwards doesn't open you up to a counter and the opening for ouchi gari is right there. Turning your hips in like Koshi requires can set you up for a counter easily since your back is facing the opponent with this forward throw. NOw if you are attacking kouchi moving sideways or moving the opponetns lead foot forward maybe. But it is not a combination I have seen. I don't see too many koshi garuma's in judo unless maybe a counter throw.
2/29/12 7:04 PM
Judo Scott
9 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I do my kouchi pretty much in a t position with uki with standard grip I don't know if it matters but I'm a lefty. I find a lot of the common combinations don't work for me the way they are taught by right handed people. Phone Post
2/29/12 7:28 PM
nowaydo
27 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I like Koga's version of Koshi.
3/1/12 6:46 AM
judoblackbelt