UnderGround Forums

JKD UnderGround >> Redman or Bulletman Gear?

3/4/12 3:50 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
scrnm
12 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hello,

I was wondering if the JKD groups use any of these types of padded attackers in their classes?

If so what are the pros and cons of using it?

I am considering getting a suit, but they are very pricey and I was hoping to hear some feedback before I buy one.

Thanks,
Joe
3/6/12 10:30 AM
HEMAN
35 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Joe...why would YOU get one? It's more for people that want to go APEshit on the suit.
3/6/12 11:47 PM
scrnm
12 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I am an instructor at a self defense club. I want to try and give the students the most realistic training they can get, but without getting my head caved in.

It isn't something I would do every week, but at test time, every couple of months, that kind of thing.
3/7/12 10:21 AM
Demitrius Barbito
40 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

NOT BULLETMAN!!! Totatally unrealistic.

We used RedMan and FIST for years. You can see it in the clips on this page.

http://www.demibarbito.com/clips.html
3/7/12 10:57 AM
HEMAN
35 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

The Redman suit lacks mobility and really is nothing more than a mix of TKD foam gears. When I taught self defense concept I would wear a chest protector, face cage headgear, mouthpiece, MMA striking gloves with heavy padding, a CUP, and shin pads.

Check Craigslist!

I found quality MMA/boxing gloves, chest protector and shin pads. Cup and face cage headgear I purchased off proforce.
3/7/12 5:38 PM
Demitrius Barbito
40 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile