UnderGround Forums

MMA Memorabilia UnderGround >> When do fakes start getting made?

3/13/12 4:49 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
grkblood
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Joe Show Radio, Owner

I'm VERY new to collecting and I wanted to know how old a card typically has to be to where you should be cautious about what you buy. I'm guessing that if someone is going to make a fake theyre not going to waste their time doing it on an event thats fairly recent. 

How long has to pass to where the fakes start popping up on ebay? Also, what about foreign UFC cards? Would you be cautious about purchasing a UFC RIO portuguese poster even though the card is pretty recent?
3/13/12 5:18 PM
iSsUEs
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

It's not really on how old sumin is, it's about price. If there's money in sumin they will make fakes plain and simple. Goes for anything not just mma. Phone Post
3/13/12 9:02 PM
Malcolmdogg
15 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Tap In -  When canada gets involved apparently
You should see my printer eh........... Phone Post
3/13/12 9:09 PM
grkblood

Joe Show Radio, Owner
 I don't get it. What's this about Canada?
3/13/12 9:15 PM
the chip guy

Kult_Komel made some fake UFC 112's, that's the newest one i've seen so far. He's been selling his fake Colosseum 2000 and Pride "US version" posters for awhlie now.

Movie poster bootleggers have been faking the Black "there are no rules" Vidmark for a long time, there are several version of this one to look out for.

The list of "Cam specials" has not been finalized yet... I think we are going to be adding a few more event posters to that list once it's all said and done.

so far I think it's,

Colosseum 2000

UFC 5, 11, 22 "no rules" vidmark

Pride 3, 6, 2000 Gp "worlds #1 warrior"

If I missed any please let me know.