UnderGround Forums

Food & Wine Ground >> Chefs and Line Cooks stories?

3/29/12 12:13 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Jay-dog
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Im reading Kitchen Confidential and lovin git. I was wondering if there are any Chefs or Line Cooks on the F&G ground with their own tales of hijinks. Any one in the food service industry really.
4/1/12 12:29 PM
junon
35 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

yeah i got a couple.

ill get back to this thread later.
4/3/12 11:32 PM
Jay-dog

ttt
4/14/12 7:10 AM
microbiologynerd
1225 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

my kitchen "career" if you will was in high school and college and didnt quite live up to the hijinx in KC. perhaps the most fun had was when I was a grill/fry cook at a wing joint in college (the hangar in amherst ma for those who care). 

the kitchen had the fryers grill, prep area separated from where the waitresses (all 9's and 10's btw- the owners knew how to staff that place well!) came back to pick up the food such that they could only see us from about the chest up. we'd put the food on a stainless steel shelf and theyd take it out to the dining area. 

being young testosterone driven males, this guy alex and i ended up working together just about every friday and saturday night because we busted our asses and could keep up with all the orders coming in. this place had a dining room/bar capacity of about 120, and a delivery service that would have 15-16 drivers on the weekends to send food to drunk college kids and freshmen looking to put on that extra 15 asap. in other words we were fucking slammed just about every night.