UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Sherk: I'm still one of the best

5/11/12 2:23 PM
Ignore | Vote Down | Vote Up
Underground Blog
1069 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

MixedMartialArts.com

"I'm not ready to walk away," said Sherk. "I consider myself still one of the top fighters in the world, I just want to get the right fight, get the right fight for my legacy."

The 38-year old Sherk has been competing in combat sports since age seven, with a decorated career as an amateur wrestler before making his mixed martial arts debut in the pre-Unified Rules era in 1999. And while he's been lucky enough to go as long as he has without suffering a serious injury, the cumulative effect from three decades of scrapping was his reason for taking an extended break.

"It's just normal wear and tear," said Sherk (36-4-1). "I've been competing in wrestling since I was seven years old, for 13 years, and I've been fighting professionally for 12 years. My first fight was in ‘99, so, you know, it's been a long road. I've always trained hard, my goal was work hard in the gym so I wouldn't have to suffer defeat, wouldn't ever have to get tired, wouldn't have to watch my opponent get his hand raised. Obviously over time, that stuff adds up."

read entire article...

5/11/12 2:24 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
THP
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Get em
5/11/12 2:25 PM
UGCTT_Bispingstolemysn
209 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Let's see... Phone Post
5/11/12 2:27 PM
needalife
10 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Always like sherk still believe he could compete with todays top guys and win. Hope to see him back soon Phone Post
5/11/12 2:33 PM
DRevan
7 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile