UnderGround Forums

SoundGround >> Easiest way to visualize/understand the fretboard?

5/12/12 7:06 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
paradigmer
96 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I've been playing rhythm guitar on acoustic for over 20 years now. Nothing fancy, but I can fingerpick and play the ryhthm parts for most pop/rock/blues music.

I just recently purchased an electric and wanted to start learning how to play lead. I don't know why, but I still find the fretboard confusing when it comes lead and playing higher up on the neck.

I started playing piano as a kid and just always "got" the piano keyboard. That familiarity has just never transferred to the guitar.

And, I had a dual major in College, one of which was Music Composition, so I know my theory very well. Still, it's just the visualization aspects on the fretboard that stumps me.

Any suggestions on an easy way to become familiar with the fretboard?

The pentatonic scale is really getting old! lol
5/12/12 8:05 PM
whaledog
77 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 05/12/12 8:36 PM
Have you checked out Spytunes? Sounds like they may have the focus you want.

How to play guitar in 20 mins part 1 by SpytunesGuru

How to play guitar in 20 mins part 2 by SpytunesGuru

How to play guitar in 20 mins part 3 by SpytunesGuru

How to play guitar in 20 mins part 4 by SpytunesGuru
5/12/12 8:43 PM
paradigmer
96 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

No, I haven't, but will now!

I watched the first video. I like how he makes it simple.

I've looked through some instructionals on youtube and it seems alot of times the person is very interested in hearing himself talk.

The spytunes guys gets right into it.

Thanks,

Any more suggestions are very welcomed. Please, I need to get my thrash on!
5/12/12 8:58 PM
whaledog