UnderGround Forums

Weapons UnderGround >> ballistics, etc

6/4/12 11:13 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
BshMstr
11 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 06/04/12 11:16 AM

hey, started this thread so as to stop hijacking what i started under the .380 thread (http://www.mixedmartialarts.com/mma.cfm?go=forum.posts&thread=1994245&forum=25&page=1&pc=13)

anyway, been thinking a lot about stopping power in general lately.... i read a couple articles that discuss if there is not an immediate brain shutdown (CNS shot), then you are essentially trying to damage organs and cause blood loss (to cause the bad guy to pass out) or shatter enough bones to cause a mobility kill (can't keep coming due to borken limbs, spine, etc).

as a cop and soldier, i've seen some weird things with bullets, and am currently questioning some of the conventional dogma out there.

right now my big issue is with hollow points (HP) vs full metal jackets (FMJ). i've seen a handful of HP's traveling along bones, and not entering target areas, where i would've thought it would have been a lethal shot. as of right now, my thought is that while a FMJ won't expand, it will react more predictably...

a couple arguments i've seen in HP vs FMJ, are that FMJ's feed better in certain handguns (1911's mainly). i will say i've shot a lot of HP through my Glock, and never had a stoppage, so i'm not sure how big of an issue this is....but a stoppage can be a find ender, IMO.

on the flip side, i've heard people say they carry HP soley for the reduced liklihood of overpenetrating the target, and reduced ricochet potention with a missed shot to protect innocent bystanders. i respect this greatly, as this is an argument to reduce casualties... however, i've never personally seen a round overpenetrate into someone else.