UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> pen-testing help for a bootcamp class

7/13/12 12:43 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Buddhadev
21 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

The DoD has sent me to a three week IT bootcamp and one of the challenges our instructors have posed is cracking a (windows) file server they have and typing your name into a notepad file on it.

I know VERY little about networking (I've been a DBA/data analyst/and PM in my last few job roles) so I've mostly been trying baby stuff.

For the class, we're given "student" domain accounts that are regular users on their windows 7 machines. We don't have any rights on the domain or any sort of elevated/admin on our machines.

I tried some obvious stuff like \\(IP address)\C$ to see if that gives me anything, but nada. A quick and dirty command line ping sweep script only showed three machines on the same subnet as their file server.

Tried to see if the FS would take connections from remote desktop or FTP, but neither got response. About all I can do is ping it.

Any ideas? Thanks! :-)
7/13/12 12:44 AM
Buddhadev
21 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

BTW, if possible, I'd prefer to avoid downloading any "script kiddy" stuff to get this done. I don't want to run the risk of actually wrecking their network. Thanks!
7/14/12 7:33 AM
OnCall
25 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Can you use Metasploit?
7/14/12 1:47 PM
Buddhadev

OnCall - Can you use Metasploit?

Can that run on windows without being on an admin account? If it can't, it doesn't help me much.

I can't download it here at the lab, but I can try to bring it in on a removable device.
7/14/12 2:00 PM
OnCall
25 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

At least run nmap against it and see what is listening on the box.
7/17/12 11:45 PM