UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> 5x5 1 Yr Results

8/19/12 10:35 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Jacks Wasted Life
33 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I started lifting on a 5x5 routine about a year ago. I didn't use starting strength but rather just used sets of 5 reps on a limited number of exercises. I changed exercises a couple times over the course of the year but eventually found the following worked best for me:

Trap Bar Deadlift
Bench
Chin Ups
Overhead Press
Dumbell Row
Hanging Leg Raises (Sets of 20)

I lifted once a week (typically on Sunday) for about an hour to an hour and a half. I always did 5x5 for Trap Bar Deadlift and Bench, but ultimately found I got better results doing only 3 sets of the other movements. This is probably just because I had to cram everything into 1 lifting day a week.

My bench started at 175 for 5, a year later it is at 225 for 5. My trap bar deadlift started at 225 for 5 and now is at 290 for 5. It should have progressed more, but I tweaked my back at one point and had to slowly build my poundages back up. Bodyweight was about 180 at the start and is right around 200 now. I'm sure I've gained a bit of fat but not too much...I don't really appear visibly fatter but do look quite a bit bigger overall.

I still have quite a ways to go, but at 35 this is definitely the biggest and strongest I've ever been. Heavy, power based training works great - I wasted a lot of time doing more bodybuilding type of routines when I was younger. Wish I had got on board with more strength based training a long time ago...in my experience not only is it better for strength gains, but for size gains too. Phone Post
8/20/12 1:00 AM
OregonChaelClosedDueToBandWagonCrash
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

What's your diet look like

Well done btw Phone Post
8/20/12 1:30 AM
ravenman2000