UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> Switching from starting strength to...

9/16/12 2:54 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
MMA_KNOWLEDGE
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

5/3/1. I have been doing SS 1 or 2 days a week for several months and am back to within about 5-10% of my previous max workout weights. I have also been doing some type of circuit with kettle bell or plyos on the weekends to keep my muscular endurance decent.

I am wanting to switch to 5/3/1 twice a week and still do the circuit thing once a week. The only exercises that I was doing with SS was Squats, Bench, Deadlift, Press, Cleans and then either Pullups or dips tacked on at the end depending on the day.

With 5/3/1 it looks like I will need a gym. I have a squat rack and bench at the house but don't have anything for most of the accessory exercises. Does anyone have their days organized so that I won't need any additional equipment or a gym? Phone Post
9/16/12 3:05 PM
Leigh
624 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I didn't do accessory work when I did 531. Phone Post
9/16/12 3:48 PM
MMA_KNOWLEDGE

It looks like some do high rep body weight stuff along with it. I may do that but lower volume than what I saw. Phone Post
9/16/12 6:18 PM
NeoSpartan
555 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

You don't need anything additional for 5/3/1. Just address your weaknesses with the equipment your currently have. Adapt.

What accessory exercises were you thinking about doing to address your weaknesses that you can't solve with a barbell?
- The boring but big protocal simply calls for you to use the same barbell lifts as your accessory lifts. So 5x10 squats, deads, OH press, and bench.
- If you're doing chins and dips boom your upperbody accessory work is done, get a chain & a caribiner, add weight.