UnderGround Forums

SoundGround >> Best jazz/pop guitar solo ever?

9/18/12 4:42 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
jman
441 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 09/18/12 4:48 AM

I hadn't heard this for probably more that 15 years after I started playing guitar (but grew up listening to it). Feels So Good by Chuck Mangione has the best guitar solo I've ever heard in a "jazz/pop" song. This is 1977 and the guy (Grant Geissman) is doing broken arpeggio sweeps, some great pentatonic stuff and some other cool things.

The guitar solo starts at 5:21.

A kind of funny story I heard from a guy that went to GIT (MIT) said that Grant Geissman came in and did a clinic for the jazz class. He said the guy was...well I guess kind of full of himself, saying he only plays bebob and doesn't really play anything else. Kind of belittling the people in the class. Then supposedly the teacher who is some old guy in his 60's or something says to him. "Ok, let's play some bob". So the teacher calls out some crazy song (maybe Giant Steps) and does it in like super SUPER fast time. Basically the guy couldn't keep up with the changes as fast as this old teacher guy and really ended up looking like a fool in front of the class, lol.

Another story like that I heard from my old girlfriend's dad (music teacher at Berkelee, SF). Supposedly after the clubs closed during the 40's there would be the infamous after hour jam sesssions. Now these were open to anyone, so you would get pros and amatuers playing, but everything was a cool environment to have fun and learn.