UnderGround Forums

Training and Gear UnderGround >> Start training again at 33

9/18/12 11:41 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
fanat
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I’ve used to train pretty heavily in thai boxing and mma years ago (like 5) and I was pretty good with it. Now at 33 married with kids and in ok shape but not the greatest decided to sign up to train again. I’m going to start of in thai boxing and then maybe if time and health permits take mma classes also (the gym does offer both). First class is this week. I’m super excited. lol

Did anybody else start training again after years off? I am going to be in the world of pain? I don’t want to embarrass myself in front of all the others.
10/10/12 5:13 PM
mr1127

I just started training at 33, making time is hardest part. Phone Post
10/11/12 7:46 PM
garagetrainedloser
10 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I did at 31 to show my 12 year old i would stil train like i made him train. Got my ass kicked allot but proved something to my son. Ended with slipped disk in neck and turn mcl but all healed still do a Lil training and lift but just can't go against the young guns no more but i was never very good in the first place just makes me fell alive. Phone Post
10/11/12 7:46 PM
garagetrainedloser
10 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

My soon wrestles no mma Phone Post
10/11/12 7:47 PM
garagetrainedloser

Wow sorry son Phone Post
10/12/12 10:12 AM
fanat

garagetrainedloser,

Good for you and your son.

I'm really afraid of neck and back injuries so muy thai is probably safer in that respect than bjj, mma or wrestling even though I love to grapple and I am pretty ok with it.

My older son is almost 4 and youngest son is only 3 months. I definitely gotta get them involved in the future just like you.
10/15/12 9:22 AM
OMG this 12er