UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> 5/3/1 + Tough Mudder Training

10/24/12 5:39 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Arglebargle
199 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Ive been doing 5/3/1 for a few months now. Decided to do a Tough Mudder in April. Is the training suggested on the TM website a good fit for the race? Can I just run and continue my 5/3/1? Do the TM training plus my 5/3/1 but cut back on assistance work?

Advice?
10/24/12 6:23 PM
TheKidAintMine
110 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

The TM obstacles are a novelty and don't require very much strength at all. If you can manage 10 push ups and a few chin ups, you're ready for the obstacles.

The trail running is what makes TM challenging. Just do lots of running. If you've been doing 5/3/1 for months, you've already got the strength component covered.
10/24/12 6:35 PM
Arglebargle
199 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

TheKidAintMine - The TM obstacles are a novelty and don't require very much strength at all. If you can manage 10 push ups and a few chin ups, you're ready for the obstacles.

The trail running is what makes TM challenging. Just do lots of running. If you've been doing 5/3/1 for months, you've already got the strength component covered.

Any advice for those of us who have only run long distances because they were being punished for something? The farthest I've ever run is a 5k and that was during the Mud Ninja--i.e. broken up by obstacles.
10/24/12 6:48 PM
TheKidAintMine
110 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile