UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> Need tips on becoming WiFi expert

10/30/12 4:39 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
psenior
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hi everybody. I recently started a new job as a field engineer for a Silicon Valley company. I have a lot of experience in enterprise IT and, so far, have my CCNA, A+, and Security+ certs.

Part of my job will be troubleshooting WiFi issues at different sites. I have a Wi-Spy and the Chanalyzer software. I will also be using a tool called Zniffer.
Never done a site survey before. So far, it doesn't look too bad but none of my certs were deep into WiFi.

I know we have a good group of experts here and am open to any information, feedback or opinions as to things I can do to rapidly increase my knowledge/skills in this area.
11/8/12 8:51 AM
lazermonkey
8 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Always look for interference on the 2.4Ghz channel spectrum and look more towards 5Ghz for cleaner signals.

I currently run the Netgear Centria with dual band and has the capability to stream HD video with 450mbps on both 2.4 and 5Ghz.

11/12/12 4:43 PM
Road Warrior Fin
11 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Surveying and getting good at surveying = Lots of practice in the field.

Honestly, the standard tools for the industry right now for site surveys is Airmagnet's software + Cisco's Spectrum expert.  Anything else, good luck (Except maybe some Motorola outdoor planning tools and/or Aruba's outdoor planning).

The more you pre-site survey's you do the more you'll understand and visualize RF.  I personally can sit down at a map, look at a building and build a network from experience up to 95% accuracy of a real site survey.  I basically do a site survey to CONFIRM my own design.