UnderGround Forums

ITGround >> (OG100K) C# Fundamentals for Absolute Beginners

[ 1 ] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
11/12/12 11:06 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
theseanster
246 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01/01/13 10:58 AM

Over the next week I'm going to start putting together and fleshing out an outline for getting OGers set to hit the ground running writing Web-applications using the Microsoft stack. I'm going to start with taking everyone from "square 1" since we have a lot of people that have had no exposure to programming.

For now, this is a nice little gem as far as free training materials go. I'd like everyone to start off with this:

http://channel9.msdn.com/Series/C-Sharp-Fundamentals-Development-for-Absolute-Beginners 

I will be frequenting the IT Forum to help out. Also if you would like to get a hold of me, I have a Gmail account specifically to help answer questions and whatever you need to get through the materials I post:

ogdeveloper@gmail.com

I work during the day PST and have a long commute, but I will do my best to reply quickly.

The software you will need to get started is located at the following URL

http://www.microsoft.com/visualstudio/eng/downloads#d-express-windows-desktop

theseanster
246 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 11/13/12 11:29 AM

So a couple of quick notes to avoid confusion. The .NET Framework is what your C# applications are built on top of. The framework provides "services" in various libraries that allow you to basically do "everything" such as save files, read from databases, security, etc. This is true regardless of whether you are building Web, Desktop, or Background Services for Windows (or even console apps).