UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> Sciatica Help!!

11/18/12 2:30 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
street187
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Recently found out i've got sciatica. What kinds of exercises should i be doing?Haven't been to the gym in like two weeks cause of the pain. Any help would be appreciated!! Phone Post
11/19/12 6:39 AM
Superman84
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Sorry to hear about the Sciatica.
I suffer from the condition myself on occasion.
I am not a medical professional but i'll tell you how i dealt with it. To begin with there are lots of videos on youtube about streatching to cure sciatica. I'm sure it works for some people, but not for me. I had to first make a lifestyle change. The main culprit was remaining in the sitting position for too long. Sadly I work in an office. This combined with driving in a car for too long flares up my sciatica. So I try to stand up more often, even at work. I limit car journeys where possible and try to take breaks when driving. Doing this for a couple of weeks helped to alleviate the condition.

Secondly weight training. I have been lifting free weights for most of my life. Too much bench press even with perfect
form caused the sciatica to appear again. Even over-doing press ups caused it to re-appear. So perhaps lay off the traditional free weight exercises until you recover.

I know this may cause some eyes to roll on this forum, but me switching to kettlebells has not caused my sciatica to flare up again. I know there is nothing inherently magical about kettlebells (just blob of metal with handle) but the popular movements assocaited with the tool truly rehabilitated by lower back and cured the sciatica. You could just use a dumbell of course.

So in summary, stand more, sit less and lay of the typical free weights.
11/20/12 12:03 AM
Trainjump