UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> Please recommend some reading for me

12/5/12 7:34 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
thefightphysician
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

There are some exceptionally knowledgable folk on this board, and I was wondering if anyone can recommend some reading material for me.

I am a qualified doctor and enjoy physiology and pharmacology, but I am not so arrogant as to think that this makes me a dietician or a sports scientist as well.
I want to experiment next year with diets for weight loss ie paleo/ketogenic and also intelligently selecting training methods for fitness. I will also be doing MMA training 2-3x per week. Love understanding the concepts behind methods and tinkering with them.

Any suggestions on reading material? Phone Post
12/5/12 8:51 PM
Taku
157 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 12/05/12 9:09 PM

Hey Doc,

Welcome to the S&C forum.

Lyle McDonald is a sharp guy and has some excellent nutrition books. If you are interested in Ketogenic diets, his book "The Ketogenic Diet" is all you need to read.

I would also recommend the book "Maximize your Training". It is filled with solid information on evidence based exercise. No hype or hipster trendy stuff. As the guy from Dragnet might say: "Just the facts mam".

More soon...

TAKU

12/5/12 9:11 PM
thefightphysician

Just had a look at some of stuff and it looks great, exactly what I was looking for - detailed/scientific.

Thanks man, appreciated. Any other recommendations/thoughts are most welcome. Phone Post
12/5/12 9:19 PM
Taku
157 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

You're welcome Doc!

TAKU

12/7/12 12:13 AM
Bull_in_chinashop
104 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Block Periodization by Vladimir Issurin

Supertraining by Mel Siff

12/7/12 6:19 AM
Chocolate Shatner