UnderGround Forums

MotorGround >> 06 Honda Accord 4cyl belt v. chain

12/26/12 7:15 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
cycklops
295 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Just got an 06 Accord 4cyl. 65k miles on it. Wanting to keep up on the maintenance etc. and was looking into changing the timing belt and water pump at the proper intervals. Recommended time to replace the belt is about 105k however its a 6/7 year old vehicle.

As I looked into it more, as I have no mechanical knowledge/ability, I'm finding that this model has a timing chain and NOT the belt.

So what type of maintenance does this require and where/ho do I establish needed iformation on this?

1/4/13 11:46 PM
Roy Batty
138 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

The chain shouldn't need to be replaced for a while. There's a "stretch limit" for them, not a replacement time, to the best of my knowledge; if it stretches past a certain point, it's time for a new one.
1/5/13 12:54 AM
cycklops
295 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I suppose it's just business as usual then? I appreciate it
1/23/13 2:21 PM
ColeMillerATT
183 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

You may have an issue with your timing chain tensioner, that is more likely than an issue with your timing chain itself. 

1/23/13 9:26 PM
cycklops

You'll have to forgive me Cole, I have no idea who's busting my balls anymore. You could have effectively told me "go get the striped paint."

1/26/13 1:18 AM
ColeMillerATT
183 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile