UnderGround Forums

BJJGround Forum >> Complete newb needs advice

1/5/13 12:18 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
VegasCJ
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm sure this has been a topic before but, the UG mobile app doesn't have a search function unfortunately. Ill be as descript and as short as possible.
I've finally decided to pursue BJJ. Put much time and thought into it as to not join then quit with some expectation of what it is/isn't and waste anyone's time. I want to come correct before I actually join up as to not burn the candle at both ends. With that said, I'm getting the physical end in order first : stopped smoking, building cardio back up (speed rope, running, cycling) , body weight exercises as well as kettle bell swings , my nutrition has been on point for awhile already plus a vitamin intake regiment. Etc.
My question to the seasoned JJ guys is where can I start to build knowledge up before I join a school? Any books you suggest? Helpful noob videos? Go watch a class? Anything that will put me on track to not being helpless in the beginning? Appreciate the advice in advance !

(P.S. : Thanks to powerful Eddie Bravo and Rogan for kicking my motivation in the ass to be even at this point) Phone Post
1/5/13 1:01 PM
Herbish1
6 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

You will be helpless, no matter what. Nothing can prepare you for what it feels like. You just have to do it. And your cardio is gonna fly right out the window once you start rolling.
1/5/13 1:01 PM
CodeGeek
24 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Just go to class. BJJ is a life-long journey, so rather than doing all sorts of extra-curricular activities to get ready to start, just start. Nothing will get you into Jiu Jitsu shape faster than doing Jiu Jitsu, and nothing you watch will be better than learning and feeling it live.