UnderGround Forums

BJJGround Forum >> Any TMA Gym added Bjj to the programme??

1/27/13 3:02 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Master Bater
17 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I Am a TMA instructor (Kempo karate-jitsu) of many years and have been running a large club for the last 15 of them.

as a side interest i have been training bjj/Gjj on and off (not nearly enough) for about 10 years. and although i have great fun and admiration for the art i have unfortunately never had the time i wanted to be able to commit enough to train more often ( i dont hold a rank of any kind, but more importantly nor do i claim to)

I have long wondered if i could add bjj/Gjj to my current clubs programme to be able to offer more people the chance to train in this very addictive art.
so my thought was i could have a regular qualified Bjj/Gjj instructor come teach classes at our club as a completely separate entity to our current syllabus (obviously) and this would (selfishly i know) also allow me, myself to train as a student like i always wanted.

i would pay for the hall space/training slots and my intention is not really to earn anything out of it, just be able to offer it as part of the programme, so it goes without saying that the Instructor would be getting paid for it.

i would take care of everything else like advertising etc...

so i wondered how this normally works and if anyone else had already done this to give me some feedback.

i was offered an affiliation to a very well know Bjj group about 2 years back, who were to send a Black Belt full time to teach and set up the classes - and although i was up for it, we would have had to pay for his flat/house too, and this was getting a little too expensive.