UnderGround Forums

Judo/Sambo UnderGround >> Avoiding Injury?

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

1/29/13 6:46 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Superman84
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I have been training in Judo and Sambo for almost 15 years.
I have competed at a reasonable level.

I stopped any real sparring last year. My body has been close to destroyed by competition. I really miss randori but I just can't keep gettting the same injuries again and again. After knee surgery and several back injuries I am close to quitting.

Has anyone had similar problems but found a way to stay involved in the sport? I had considered abopting a more laid back style involving more sacrifice throws and newaza. The other way to stay involved is to focus more on teaching.

I rarely meet a 3rd or above who doesn't have major injuries.

Any advice?
1/29/13 2:35 PM
Bull_in_chinashop
153 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01/29/13 2:35 PM

Old man sparring - playfull, light-hearted, lots of ashiwaza, "trickery" and HUMILITY, going with the flow and taking a breakfall when caught with something.

I personally love to randori with the old timers like this. They have the best ashiwaza. smooth, flowing, sneaky!

1/29/13 7:41 PM
judoblackbelt
31 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile