UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> Workouts on days of Jiu Jitsu Classes

1/30/13 1:51 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
icon115
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hey guys. I've been doing bjj twice a week for about 5 years now. I'm 33. Also started doing kettlebells and some cardio work on the off days at lunch. I would say i'm just at an average build/fitness.

Just wondering if you guys do strength and conditioning training on the days that you are training (bjj or mma or striking).

Thanks.
1/30/13 2:37 PM
disbeliever
362 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Mixed Martial Arts LLC, Moderator
Its all about rest/recovery IMO.

In 2000 I was teaching/training BJJ 6 days a week. We would meet up first thing in the morning to do sprints, I would work a full career, head to the gym and teach a few classes, then grab some dinner, then we would train. 3 nights a week we lifted after teaching and before BJJ.

I would get about 7 hours a night sleep during the week, but Sunday was my sleep all day day to recover. No phones, internet nothing. Just stress free relaxation and rest.

Worked out well for me for years.
1/30/13 3:34 PM
icon115
2 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I guess I can always play it by ear. Just feel like I'm too tired for sparring on the days I work out. Might just have to dial down the work out. 2 young kids don't help either!

Thanks for the tip.
1/30/13 3:37 PM
disbeliever
362 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Mixed Martial Arts LLC, Moderator
icon115 - I guess I can always play it by ear. Just feel like I'm too tired for sparring on the days I work out. Might just have to dial down the work out. 2 young kids don't help either!

Thanks for the tip.