UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> Question about weight training and calories

2/1/13 1:29 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
gatorlaw
69 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hey fellas, first time posting on this subforum, so looking forward to the expert advice.  I've been working on a modified starting strength 3x5 program that incorporates power cleans and pullups (alternating with deadlifts).  Heavy weight, low reps, 3 times per week.  Other than my morning workouts, I'm an attorney so I stay relatively inactive throughout the day.

I'm currently 6'1", 165 lbs, with a body-fat percentage of 10% or so.  My goal is to add about 15 lbs of muscle over the next year while at the same time leaning out my body-fat percentage.

I've cleaned-up and restructured my diet to increase my caloric intake while reducing fats and processed carbs and am working on the 5 meals per day regimen.  Here are my questions:

1. How many calories per day should I consume to achieve my healthy weight-gain goals?
  2. What percentage of those calories should come from fats, carbohydrates, and proteins?
  3. Has anyone had good results with a similar program/diet?
Thanks in advance for the tips.
2/2/13 6:12 AM
Funaki Masakatsu #1
178 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 02/02/13 6:21 AM

It's really hard to try to gain muscle and lose fat at the same time. I find that doing one or the other and getting great results at that beats the so-so results of trying to do both at once.