UnderGround Forums

SoundGround >> Guitar refinishing

2/5/13 9:46 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
GayGuard MooSaucy
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hey guys!

I'm hoping to get some feedback from you guys about getting into guitar painting.

My background:
I have zero musical ability but I worship the electric guitar shape and sound, lol.
I grew up with a paint gun in my hand in the body shops my dad managed and then owned.
I'm currently painting bicycles - requires EXTREME detail.
I have some experience working with wood and refinishing furniture.
While I'm no artist - craftsman, yes - I have access to a very, very good airbrush guy for the crazier stuff.

I would really, really like to ad guitar painting to my business.
Is there much demand for it?
2/6/13 2:23 AM
Majic Sam
53 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Cool,

I am currently custom painting furniture and used to paint/prep for Ayotte Drums and Larrivee Guitars.

The tough part would be color matching to match original finishes.If you know how to do that AND airbrush/polish/wetsand/buff,you might do well in a high volume location.You would probably do much better in the long run if you could provide repairs and set up guitars,on the side.

All that aside,an adjustable low volume/high pressure spray system is a must.Knowledge w/ polyester/polyurethane basecoats,topcoats and high-gloss wetsanding and buffing will go far.Lots of fun.
2/6/13 5:32 PM
GayGuard MooSaucy
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

MagicSam (love the name) -
thanks for info.
the base/topcoats,lvhp, wetsanding and buffing are all very standard in the auto world.....i've been doing those since childhood, lol.

i should have no issue color matching - i have a good eye, some great resources and some hi-tech gizmos to get the color right.

What do you mean by high volume location?

What type of repairs?

What do you mean by set up guitars?