UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> 6 new wood engravings about Mir/Lesnar I

2/8/13 2:16 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
woodstainedglass
249 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 02/08/13 2:17 PM

Hey all,

My new "Defining Moment" article is up, with new wood engravings looking back at MIr's kneebar submission during Lesnar's UFC debut.

http://fightland.vice.com/blog/defining-moment---mir-vs-lesnar-1

2/8/13 2:21 PM
UGCTT_SidRival
572 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Pretty crazy. Why choose that medium? Just out of curiosity. Phone Post
2/8/13 2:23 PM
mixedmartialfarts
780 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Very cool!  Nice work!

2/8/13 2:33 PM
woodstainedglass
249 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I've been a wood working artist for a few years, and it's really my strongest medium. I was making large scale cityscapes, stained glass replicas, and figurative work on wood while just being an MMA fan in my personal life.  

I was a decent painter, but nothing excellent. Drawing has always been my strong suit, and this type of wood work lets me make drawing the basis of my work. Then I can work with the wood tone & grain, and use wood stain for color. I did construction when I was in college, and always liked wood grain and working with tools, plus the wood is way more durable than canvas. 

my old work is here: http://christopherrini.com

2/8/13 2:39 PM
Caleb Alexander Von Reuter
201 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Very cool! Phone Post
2/8/13 2:39 PM
DamnSevern
1209 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

amazing work as usual

and congrats on joining Fightland

2/8/13 2:47 PM
UGCTT_SidRival