UnderGround Forums

BJJGround Forum >> 7yr old student with cauli ear

2/15/13 11:00 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
N5Z
8 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Ive been teaching kids for 3 years now and this is the first time ive had to deal with this. Student is son of a family friend. They asked what they should do and I said see a doc even though in my experience docs have little to no idea how/what to do with cauli ears. Doc refers them to an ENT with an apt a week away. Mom is afraid ear will be perma scarred by then.

I have had moderate success with draining my own ears. We have a veterinarian/wrestler who has more experience than myself at it. Any options im missing?

Fyi, its a pretty gnarly bubble, the kid thinks its cool, and ear guards are already on the way. Phone Post
2/15/13 11:45 PM
Braxmax
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Just remove the ear. In kids under 10 they regrow when they're removed, kinda like teeth. It's pretty awesome how God designed the human body and kids are resilient. Phone Post
2/15/13 11:56 PM
SC MMA MD
240 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Have the parents call the ENT office or have their primary doctor call to explain the issue. The ENT doctor knows that addressing cauliflower ear is a time sensitive issue, but the person doing the scheduling probably just gave them the next open regular appointment. Friends with kids in wrestling or BJJ have gotten next day appointments with ENT because of cauliflower ear even though the doctor did not have a regular appointment open for a few weeks Phone Post
2/16/13 12:43 AM
shen
721 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 02/16/13 12:54 AM
Nothing to worry about... even if it becomes cauliflower ear. Other kids are usually very forgiving about minor deformities and such.
2/17/13 12:04 AM
Baroquen Record