UnderGround Forums

OtherGround Forums >> Bravo45 Gunfighting Discussion Thread

2/17/13 2:39 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
bravo45
606 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

An OGer anonymously requested that I start a 'training tips and black rifle' discussion thread.  So here we are.  

Today I'm going to post about slings, grips, and lights and how to think about setting up your rifle.  

Let me caveat though; the opinions expressed herein are my own.  I am not an expert, I am just as much of a student as everyone else, I just have the opportunity to spend more time on the gun than most people.  

I do not have the time and money to test out every new product that comes on the market, the things I use and endorse have come on the recommendations of others.  If you know of something different and can suggest it, please do so.  

Nothing in this thread will be mind-blowing, but rather a collection of common sense techniques that most people don't address.  

2/17/13 2:43 PM
bravo45
606 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

A couple of different set-ups.  The rifle on the left is an airsoft gun, used to mimic my work gun, and also to demo stuff to people (particularly when we're drinking at the house...)  

The middle is a mid-longer range rifle set up

The right would be my go-to gun for everything if I could only pick one.  

The bottom is a virginal M&P15 I picked up this week.  It helps to know people.  

2/17/13 2:50 PM
bravo45

You'll notice the fore grips above are pushed out towards the end of the rifle.  The further out we can hold the gun, the more stable our shooting platform becomes.  Gone are the days of the old 'SMG' magazine hold that Hollywood loves.  Very unstable. 

Here is an example of my preferred fore grip and hand position

2/17/13 2:52 PM
bravo45

It also works with stubby grips, which I typically prefer.  

2/17/13 2:54 PM