UnderGround Forums

BJJGround Forum >> The old Gi-No Gi debate

3/20/13 5:55 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Superman84
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hi,

I know the whole Gi-No Gi debate is getting old on this forum, so apologies for bringing it up again.

I've been training for over 15 years. First in Judo and Sambo when I was younger. I then moved to Japan trained at various Shooto gyms and since college i've trained almost exclusively no gi sub grappling. I have loads of good level BJJ friends that I train with also. I'm just not interested in training with the gi anymore. I don't have a formal BJJ grade but have been competing for awhile.

I understand the view of the BJJ community relating to the importance of the gi.

Is there anyone else of this forum who no longer trains with a Gi and has been training and competing for many years? Are you similar in that you don't have a huge interest in gaining a formal rank?

I know we are seeing lots of no-gi BJJ black belts being created in recent years. What are the views on this?

I also see the trend that if someone is successful in MMA they eventually get awarded a BJJ Blackbelt by someone. Almost like PR for spreading the art? Controversial?

Any thoughts?
3/20/13 6:47 AM
Shemhazai
12 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I think that you have the most to gain by training in the gi at an early stage, since the gi sharpens your defensive movements, e.g. shrimping to guard, escapes, grip fighting etc. - whereas no gi for the most part sharpens your offensive skills. Once you've built a good foundation in the gi, continuing with no gi only is fine if that's what you want, IMO.
3/20/13 7:07 AM
PayItForward
139 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

i agree w shemhazai...

1. i believe training in a gi will sharpen your defense.