UnderGround Forums

S&C UnderGround >> Squats - hip drive vs upper back drive

4/12/13 10:44 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Blunderhooks
156 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Which form do you fellas think is safer and more effective - Rippetoe's hip drive (lead with the hips out of the hole, pushing them up, not forward) or upper back drive (back and neck into the bar first, then push hips forward instead of up - if I understand correctly - favored by Donnie Thompson, Louie Simmons etc)?

I am a beginner and have been doing starting strength, so I learned the Rippelytoes way. But I read about the other approach and tried it today and it felt more explosive, natural and easier.

Is this one of those things where one thing works for some people and not for others? Or the hip approach is just best for beginners and that's why Rip teaches it that way? Or simply one is right and one is wrong? Phone Post 3.0
4/12/13 10:49 AM
jeremy hamilton
171 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

The only people advocating the way Louie Simmons says to squat are people who lift in multi ply gear.

If that is what you want to do then you should read everything Louie writes. If it isn't then look elsewhere.
4/12/13 11:19 AM
JamesDean57
31 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Here are 5 good videos on squatting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ME8gEN54Ao&list=PLD7BE939BB32B4CAB&index=1
4/12/13 12:01 PM
dc1000
52 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile