UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Hendricks: GSP should vacate to fight Silva

4/19/13 5:50 PM
Ignore | Vote Down | Vote Up
Underground Blog
1160 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

MixedMartialArts.com

Yesterday UFC President Dana White revealed that he had not made definite plans for Georges St-Pierre's next bout and it was up to the welterweight champion. He could either defend his welterweight title, or fight a superfight with middleweight Champion Anderson Silva. Number one contender Johny Hendricks doesn't care what he does, but either way he wants to fight for the title next:

Hendricks, who's won six consecutive UFC bouts, said he would wait for St-Pierre if he went for Silva's belt, but would like the champ to vacate it. He's tired of waiting.

"That's what I've been preaching for the last six to eight months," he said. "I want to fight GSP because I'm a competitor. I want to fight the best guys in my weight class. But also, the belt is more important than GSP, and that's really what I'm looking at.

"If he wants to go to 185 then by all means, go to 185 and fight Anderson Silva. Yes, it would be a great thing for our sport. But I want the belt. I'd like to fight GSP for it, but if that doesn't happen, I'm not going to hang my head and say, 'Oh man, I'm going to be fighting that guy for the belt.'"

read entire article...

4/19/13 6:00 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Coolface_Awesomeson
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Hasn't GSP already said that if he fought at middleweight he'd have to stay there because of his power-xeno-morphin body type?
4/19/13 6:02 PM
shaqitup
38 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

GSP isn't moving up

4/19/13 6:05 PM
notsobigmike
59 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile