UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Fighters Being jerks to Fans

5/22/13 3:12 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
TheOneDylanThomas
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 05/22/13 3:18 PM

I've read here and on other forums about fighters who have a reputation for being dickish with fans; ex. Hughes, Shamrock, Sylvia, Randy, etc. But has anyone ever personally experienced this?

I've met Hughes and Sylvia and both were incredibly cool and engaging. Besides those two, I've met maybe 20 total fighters and have never had a single poor experience.

Dana and Renzo were probably the most awesome. Met Dana in 2006 after the US v/s Canada weigh ins. I was a TUF noob and a starstruck hayseed tourist from SC visiting Vegas for the first time. Asked for a picture and he not only obliged but talked with me for five minutes. Never broke eye contact even though we were surrounded by other fans. Lorenzo or Frank was in the conversation too. (I didn't know who the Fertittas were at the time. Doh.) But they didn't have to spend so much time with me. Didnt benefit them one iota. There was nothing extraordinary about me. Great moment. I don't think Dana gets the credit he deserves for his interactions with fans.

I guess I'm a bit skeptical of the "fighter x" is a dick to his fans stories. I've only had positive experiences.
5/22/13 3:14 PM
MediumRareMistake
70 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Bones took home my designated driver and her friend to his hotel in Edmonton while my buddies and I had to cab home. Phone Post 3.0
5/22/13 3:18 PM
HolyHackZack
418 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile