UnderGround Forums

UnderGround Forums >> Sonnen: 'Accosting a gangster can be hazardous'

10/3/13 11:51 AM
Ignore | Vote Down | Vote Up
Underground Blog
1025 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

MixedMartialArts.com

At the Olympia expo in Las Vegas last weekend, Chael Sonnen was signing autographs at a booth, when Wanderlei Silva suddenly appeared, accompanied by a camera crew.  "The Axe Murderer" and Sonnen went nose-to-nose and ended up having to be pulled apart.

Then Wand released an over the top video commentating on the altercation.

"Real men talk face to face," said Wand on the video. "With me the talk is straight up. I will punch you face, it will happen soon. I didn't smash you today because I'm a professional, and professionals keep it out of the streets... I heard the fear in your voice when you started talking with that thin voice like a girl. You were shaking in fear. You loser."

On Wednesday's edition of UFC Tonight, Chael Sonnen took the oppotunity to respond.

"I'm all for Wanderlei having a little fun," said Sonnen. "But Wanderlei, three things. First off, if you're going to do a publicity stunt, do not bring your own camera. It looks staged, which it was. It insults your audience. Assume that they're going to connect the dots. Show up somewhere where a camera is, and then go into your little routine.

"Secondly, In this country and in this industry, if you refuse to fight a guy, like you did me, you forfeit your right to then talk about that person in this type of fashion. Accosting somebody in public, can be regrettable. Accosting a gangster can be hazardous."

Third, Chael invited Wand to be interviewed on UFC Tonight. Sonnen also said that UFC lightweight champion Anthony Pettis had his back.