UnderGround Forums

OtherGround Forums >> How much work travel is too much for you?

6/13/14 12:12 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
soreshins
204 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I'm a consultant and get paid ok money but have to travel a lot for work. I live in sunny canada but this whole week I'm in DC, then over the next month I'll be in Fresno, San Francisco and Vancouver for a week each. Usually travel Monday back Friday but sometimes have to leave Sunday early afternoon to fit in with client diaries.

Trips go up and down over the year and sometimes can be home for 3 weeks and maybe only 1-2 nights away.

I enjoy seeing new places but dont like being away from my wife so much and sacrificing my training and other hobbies. Also, staying in hotels sucks and eating out every night is bad for my aging waistline!

I'm kind of thinking of moving to the my local city government department which would mean a $20k paycut but no travel.

Also realize that I might get bored in the one office so no real idea what is best move at this point.

What's the OGs view on work travel? What's too much? Enjoy or hate it? Phone Post 3.0
6/13/14 12:18 AM
TFK_Dirt24d
790 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

How much do you make now?
How old are you?
What do you consult in?
Do you have kids? Phone Post 3.0
6/13/14 12:26 AM
soreshins
204 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Over 40, no kids but planning them, $150k, engineering Phone Post 3.0
6/13/14 12:27 AM
Eggbert
776 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile