UnderGround Forums

BJJGround Forum >> Getting burnt out of jiu jitsu?

7/29/14 9:24 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Dazed
25 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Ever get burnt out of jiu jitsu?

I've been doing jiu jitsu for 6 years and I'm starting to feel very lazy and burnt out when it comes to training.

Doing technique is monotonous to me, the passion I used to have has been missing for a long time. I still like to roll but overall I don't find myself looking forward to going to jiu jitsu class. It feels like a chore and an obligation at the same time. Sometimes I honestly feel like dropping it and just lifting weights and working my physique.

What the hell do I do in this situation? Is it possible to get the fire back that I once felt for the art?
7/29/14 9:34 PM
10eroftheyear
18 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Take some time off, I imagine after 6 years you're probably purple/brown level? Take a couple months off and lift, rock climb, mountain bike. You'll get the passion back when you're watching a ufc event or metamoris or when someone you work with asks you "Hey man you do that fighting stuff right?"...

It'll come back, give it some time. Phone Post 3.0
7/29/14 9:49 PM
Dazed
25 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Nah only recently got a blue in the Gi

My JJ started with 10th planet and my instructors have always only been 1 belt ahead of me

7/29/14 10:05 PM
PittBJJ
32 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Just take a month off and see what happens. I have never burnt out yet but due to injuries and what not have had to take some time off in the past and everytime I am even more excited to return to the mat.

7/30/14 1:10 AM
emu67
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile