UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> lineage: yea or nay?

2/4/04 9:17 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Stickgrappler
1960 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 04-Feb-04

my take on lineage is this: if you are out to propagate the style/system then lineage is probably important to you. if you are into MA for self defense, then lineage probably is not important to you. you just want to have an instructor who can impart to you the fundamentals of self defense. also, i think the majority of the human race has this very basic/primal need to feel needed and feel accepted. this ties into name recognition. i am a student under the world famous GM xyz. woohoo! i am in the in-crowd. IMO, part of the appeal of taking classes at a franchise mcdojo is this very human need to be accepted. well, one counter-argument to lineage is: GM xyz can kick a$$, more importantly can YOU? being a student in GM xyz's lineage doesn't gurantee you to be able to kick a$$. then you have MAists who cross-train with many of the famous instructors and not so famous instructors. then you got the MAists who train with one instructor, get a belt, then go on to another instructor get another belt, and eventually under some instructor, he would've gotten a black belt. i don't know, am i rambling? maybe not enough caffeine yet.
2/4/04 9:29 AM
tjmitch
304 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile