UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> Taiji style differences ?

3/18/04 4:14 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Naughty Gorilla
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 18-Mar-04

What are the differences between the taiji styles ? Do they just have different forms or are there fundamental differences ?
3/23/04 2:34 PM
Naughty Gorilla

Edited: 23-Mar-04
ttt ?
3/23/04 2:46 PM
Willybone
277 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

I am also puzzled that this is unanswered. We've got have some wu or chen guys here.
I know that some are faster, more combative forms, but I'm no expert.
3/23/04 4:24 PM
VBrown

Sheesh. It's kind of a big topic with alot of points of contention between them. Chen style is the oldest (documented) and tends toward a "large frame". Beginning students traditionally started with long standing practise and silk reeling exercises. Then the forms would be ways of illustrating how that power developed by the silk reeling could be used, or changed to fit the needs of the opportunity. Yang style is an outgrowth of Chen. It doesn't have the silk reeling exercises, but also tends to be larger in frame. Wu and Hao (another Wu) tend to be small frame. I don't know much about their history. I've met a good Wu stylist and he's pretty slick. It's not for me, but I can see it's value for the right person. FWIW, Vince
3/23/04 8:03 PM
ed2002

Basically they are derived from each other as Vince said. Chen is the oldest, Yang came from Chen, Wu came from Yang and Chen, Sun came from Wu and other internal arts. Hao is from Wu as well. The forms are quite different due to evolution etc. Fundamentally Chen has more regular kungfu style jumps, holds and strikes. There are small framed Chen styles but the older Chen styles tend to have more difficult low wide stances.
3/24/04 4:35 AM
ifidieidie

Edited: 24-Mar-04