UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Q's about molecular biology?

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

4/1/04 8:56 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Sporran
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01-Apr-04 08:49 AM

That's my gig - professional research scientist. Also cell biology, biochemistry, and molecular oncology. I guess MBN would be the best for microbiology...... I imagine I will be asked little, and seldom, but the offer is there.
4/1/04 5:28 PM
1groovyunit

Edited: 01-Apr-04
Oh man you are a Godsend. I am now a high school science teacher and in a school district that sucks tremendously. In the beginning of the year I had some trouble with my certification and sent my resume all over the place. Anyway, I have an offer to work in a diagnostic lab where they do a lot of PCR and immunoassays. My background is in analytical chemistry (my degree is environmental chemistry with a minor in chem and a minor in bio). They said they were eyeing me for a position that was beginning with clinical, but ending in a research position, as they are opening a new lab with research departments doing research in virology and infectious diseases. We also talked about me going back to school to get my master's in molecular genetics/microbiology. They said I would learn a tremendous amount about molecular biology, virology, immunology and pathogenic microbiology at the job. My question is this: what can I do with this sort of background? Earning potential? Suppose I stay at a bachelor's level but work my ass off to learn all I can, what can I do with it? Are there a lot of other possibilities beside 70 hour a week research positions? Is the work really interesting and fun, or is it boring to tears? Sporran, I'd really appreciate your advice because I am seriously considering this option. Another potential offer is working with a toxicologist at a forensics lab. I'd really like to know all I can about the field before I jump in. Thanks a million, Mark