UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> ATTN: Ted Bennett

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

6/13/04 3:37 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
marck
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 13-Jun-04 03:35 AM

True story: I used to work in a warehouse with a guy named Ron. The thing about Ron was that he was able to learn new tasks faster than anyone I'd ever seen. A procedure that would take an average guy 3 days to feel comfortable with, he'd feel comfortable with it in 2 hours. And he didn't forget anything! In fact, he memorized all the titles of the forms in the warehouse in a short time (this wasn't necessary to do, mind you) and could tell you exactly where they were all located. Nobody else could do this with such precision. He was also a master problem solver. When there was a physical problem, he could immediately think of a good idea. He also remembered almost any phone # after dialing it or hearing it once. He was 45 yrs old and was retired from the military. He had a very limited community college education. He had a hard time with words, however. He wasn't very good at writing, punctuation or grammar. In speaking, he would get his words twisted a bit like G.W.B. does. But that wasn't too often, and if you met him, you'd never know. He was actually quite witty. He was from the south, a staunch conservative and he really knew his history well. He liked to read. We used to have heated political discussions at work. His reasoning wasn't always strong, although sometimes he could make a brilliant connection that passed us by. He was hit and miss, but overall, he wasn't the best in the reasoning dept. Here's my question: Once we decided to take some online IQ tests for fun. He scored very low, between 105 and 125. This is an Internet IQ test! I consistently scored between 125 and 160. But this guy could learn a new task faster and memorize more info than almost anyone I'd ever met. Why did he score so low? I know Internet tests are not re