UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Career Advice

| Share | Email | Subscribe | Check IPs

7/9/04 6:50 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
1groovyunit
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 09-Jul-04

Alright, I'm undecided still and making a decision doesn't seem to be easy. I was an analytical chemist for a few years out of college, then I decided to become a teacher. This was my first year of teaching. In the middle of the year the state made a mistake with my paperwork and threatened to pull my credentials. I sent out resumes and got an offer to work in a medical laboratory where they do research (molecular biology, microbiology, virology and immunology research). It's an incredibly tempting offer and they even offered to hold the position for me until september. I did enjoy teaching and leaving teaching would be throwing away a pension and health benefits for life after 25 years, but I really don't think I have the emotional faculties to teach high school kids for that long (just being honest with myself). I am considering leaving the teaching position because of this and because the offer is there for a dynamite, interesting job which would open all kinds of doors for me. I love the idea of working in a biosafety level 3 laboratory and I love science, however I was a good teacher and did love my kids, plus the summer is great for martial arts training, fishing and goofing off a little. I'm 32 years old and am not married yet, no kids. I already have a good idea of what I am going to do but am wondering if any of you have a different perspective on this, maybe from experience, or just have some different viewpoints. Thanks.
7/11/04 2:29 AM
Slash
68 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 11-Jul-04
teaching in high school is one of the last things i would want to do.
7/12/04 6:29 PM
Ragnar_Deerslayer

Edited: 12-Jul-04