UnderGround Forums
 

PhotoshopGround >> need dropshadow help in AE...


8/29/04 7:21 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Dragon
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 29-Aug-04 07:13 PM
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 6350
 
I don't see a videoground, so I figure this'd be the best place to ask. I have After Effects 5.0E and I need to make a title sequence with a shadow on the text animated with the effect that the light source is passing overhead. this is a kind of visual reference I did in photopaint. I know I could just do it frame-by-frame, but that would suck (and defeat the purpose of AE in my opinion). that's the effect I'm looking for. does anyone know if there are any free or cheap plug-ins that could do this in AE 5.0?
8/29/04 10:29 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
JimmyG
1203 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 29-Aug-04
Member Since: 11/28/2003
Posts: 6192
I'm pretty sure you could keyframe a distortion or blur effect.
8/30/04 3:19 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Dragon
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 30-Aug-04
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 6356
hmm...yeah, I suppose I could do that. might bit a bit of a pain in the ass doing it like 5 times though...I'd have to duplicate the text, invert it, and just distort it & blur it I guess...hmm I'll mess around with it and see what I can do... thanx
8/31/04 5:12 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Dragon
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 31-Aug-04
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 6361
ok, found what I was looking for in the path text option. I'll just have to make 2 versions of it, invert one, offset its edit points, and skew it horizontally a bit w/ keyframe & gaussian blur it a bit.
8/31/04 5:37 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
JimmyG
1203 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 31-Aug-04
Member Since: 11/28/2003
Posts: 6246
Yeah, that's similar to what I was about to write. There was no need to do it 5 times.
9/1/04 3:03 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Dragon
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01-Sep-04
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 6363
no, I'd still have to do it 5 times b/c i'll do the same effect on 5 different titles...
9/1/04 3:21 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
SatanJR
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01-Sep-04
Member Since: 01/01/2001
Posts: 20358
I could probably do it, I am mediocre at AE, but I will give it a shot in the AM and post what I come up with.
9/1/04 12:49 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
JimmyG
1203 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 01-Sep-04
Member Since: 11/28/2003
Posts: 6251
All you would have to do is duplicate the original and the effect(ed) one and then edit the text per each one. All the keyframes and effects will stay - just edit what it says.

Reply Post

You must log in to post a reply. Click here to login.