UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> Aikido

10/11/04 5:15 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
TexasThai
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 11-Oct-04

im having a hard time finding muay thai gyms that teach actual classes (i have been doing personal training for about 3 years now) but about 7 months ago i had to stop going to my trainers due to the fact that i could not afford it anymore.

$300 a month IS worth it, for the training i was getting but just coulnd't do it anymore, at least not right now.

the BJJ and Muay Thai gyms that i could possibly train at have NO classes around my schedule (11-8) i work.

I have a little hapkido training, not much at all, but i loved what i learned.

Bottom line is i found an Aikido school right up the street from where i live and they have classes that start at 6 in the morning, so i can surely find a class that i can attend in the mornings before work.

what are your thoughts on Aikido? Is it worth it? I am still going to be training Muay Thai, once i get my finance's back in order, but definitely want to learn some new arts...

sorry for the rambling..

thanks

TT

10/11/04 7:59 PM
jsteinmann
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 11-Oct-04
What do you want to get out of it? As a quick answer: Aikido isn't going to help your Muay Thai very much. I spent 4-5 years studying Aikido, and none of it translated to my later Muay Thai training. Of course, you may have other reasons, that may or may not make it worth it.
10/12/04 10:58 AM
TexasThai
1 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 12-Oct-04

no im not lookin for it help my muay thai, my thai boxing is as good as its gonna get right now.....

i want to learn something new, something traditional.

what can you tell me about it??

TT

10/13/04 5:43 PM
jsteinmann

Edited: 13-Oct-04