UnderGround Forums

Japan UnderGround >> Shochu

10/31/04 7:07 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Matt Banks
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 31-Oct-04

Hello, I have a few question about Shochu (japanese vodka). Does it have a taste which is very different from russian vodka e.g. Absolute vodka etc? What does it taste like? Is Shochu used in cocktails in Japan? i.e. if someone asked for a 'vodka and lemonade' would they add shochu? Is shochu a popular drink in japan? thank you very much for you help. sincerely Matthew
10/31/04 8:38 PM
hamu86

I am no expert, but I like to drink: my lifetime goal is to crash one of those Sakuraba and Takada Dojo drinking parties you see on TV commercials. I could be wrong in spots, but let me try to help you here. "Does it have a taste which is very different from russian vodka e.g. Absolute vodka etc? What does it taste like?" Shochu is distilled like vodka (and scotch), but the basic ingredients can vary. Most commonly, it is distilled from one or more of the following: potato, buckwheat, barley, rice, and black sugar. Also, the alcohol content can vary immensely. On a related note, the Okinawans distill awamori, which is similar but generally higher proof and, if I'm not mistaken, restricted to rice. "Is Shochu used in cocktails in Japan? "i.e. if someone asked for a 'vodka and lemonade' would they add shochu?" If you ask for a -wari or -hai in Japan, it generally means that something is mixed with shochu. For example, you can get a lemon-hai or lemon-wari, or grapefruit-hai or grapefruit-wari. You generally don't want a good grade shochu for that. The other ways to enjoy it are the following: straight; mizu-wari (with water and ice); and oyu-wari (with hot water). Depending on the brand, some of them are great with other preparations. At one of my local hangouts, several of the regulars get O-ishi with soda water and a lime. And some are really good with ramune. But needless to say, if you ask for a vodk