UnderGround Forums

FilmmakerGround >> DVD transfer question

11/4/04 10:07 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Steve Loftin
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 04-Nov-04

I am interested in producing DVDs using a home video type camera. I can't afford to spend a lot of money so I am looking for a camera for under $1000. I want a good quality picture and sound. The most bang for the buck is great. I am completely new to the "digital" area. I have made smaller home movies using VHS but that is seriously outdated now. I want to get into a more modern area. I know they have digital video cameras and even the camera that uses the actual DVD disc, so here are a few questions that I have. What type of camera is best used for this process? Can a standard DVD recorder be used to duplicate my movies? When transferring film to a DVD-R/RW or DVD+R/RW, which one is better and why? Will the DVD-R/RW or DVD+R/RW discs play in a standard region 1 DVD player? I appreciate the help, y'all. Thanks in advance. Steve
11/4/04 11:03 AM
Lynn@Renzos

Edited: 04-Nov-04
Wow...that's a mouthful. What you should try to get is a 3 CCD camera if possible. Panasonic has some solid cameras at a lower price point. It also depends on what you are trying to shoot. Give us that and I am sure we can help you more. Yes a standard DVD recorder can if you are wanting to not create anything other than DVD +/-R DVDs. The DVD-R plays in most standard DVD players, more so than the +R. I think you mean transfer from video to DVD not film, correct?
11/6/04 9:02 AM
Steve Loftin

Edited: 06-Nov-04
Lynn, Thanks for the help. I am wanting to transfer from video to DVD. I am interested in filming sporting events with this camera. Different things such as, football games, wrestling, basketball, etc. So the camera will not be set up on a tripod the whole time. I need something that can follow the action fairly well. How would I go about creating actual DVD Video discs instead of DVD-Rs? Steve