UnderGround Forums

Weapons UnderGround >> SCA vs Escrima

11/19/04 4:22 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Davidkamau
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 19-Nov-04

Okay, I recently read about a stick fighting tournament where no one wears any armor, I am in the SCA and we fight with sticks and wear a full suit of armor, if we didnt, just about every good shot would lead to a critical injury, does this mean that the SCA is tougher than these tournaments or maybe I am missing somthing?
11/19/04 4:22 PM
Davidkamau

Edited: 19-Nov-04
Okay, I recently read about a stick fighting tournament where no one wears any armor, I am in the SCA and we fight with sticks and wear a full suit of armor, if we didnt, just about every good shot would lead to a critical injury, does this mean that the SCA is tougher than these tournaments or maybe I am missing somthing?
11/22/04 10:39 AM
theMachine23

Edited: 22-Nov-04
Hi David, Good questions, and until I started training in Sayoc Kali and Sayoc Fighting Systems I thought the same thing. However, I think if you are willing to open your mind, and watch the "Scenarios" section of the Sayoc Stickgrappling DVD (see www.sayoc.com), you will see that strikes that you might think would cause critical injury, indeed do not. We fought with 3/4" thick rattan, and there were only minor injuries (bruises, etc). It would be different if we were using metal pipes, where a strike to the head would more likely cause a KO. Fighting with armor changes the dynamics of a fight. There is much less "at stake". Don't get me wrong, I believe it is very useful training, and our training includes it as well as ActionFlex (padded stick) sparring. Nevertheless, "just about every good shot would lead to a critical injury" is analagous to a Karate one-punch KO...which indeed can happen, but how often do you see this in competition/a "live" situation? I have sparred an SCA guy with a staff; he had some really nice moves. He was tough and fight