UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> Should I dual major?

11/30/04 8:17 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
MONSTAR
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 30-Nov-04

Here's the deal, I'm 24 (started college seriously late, no motivation didn't know what to do) now I'm majoring in TV and Film at Hofstra University. The deal is I started this semester, (I have a tranfer of 66 credits from Nassau Community College), as TV Video and Buisness. The thing is when I was registering for next semester, I found all these AVF classes that were actually useful in another major. Now I have to switch, and most of my credits for this semester aren't worth a dime bag of shit. Should I dual major in Audio Visual Film, and Buisness just to save this semseter. What do you think.
12/13/04 12:34 AM
djdb

Edited: 13-Dec-04
Dual major if you intend to be employed in the two different industries. No other valid reason. -r
12/13/04 9:43 AM
cakegirl
22 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Dual majors will make you look more motivated to future employers.
12/13/04 9:59 PM
djdb

Statisticaly speaking, people who have multiple degrees at the same level do not make any more money long-term than single degree holders at the same level. Conclusion: Having multiple degrees at the same level does not make one any more employable overall, & is therefore not worth the investment in time, money, effort, or reduced performance to "make you look more motivated." It is only useful in opening specific doors, But it won't make a bit of difference in the long run financially. -r
12/16/04 10:27 AM
asdf
5 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 16-Dec-04 10:28 AM