UnderGround Forums

TMA UnderGround >> What is considered a Trad MA

12/10/04 1:47 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
emptiedcup
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 10-Dec-04

I am a traditional martial artist...I've studied and teach a traditionally based japanese karate system called Mugen Ryu...however..my question to all of you is this...what does tradition mean...does it have to be karate to be traditional...does it have to be japanese or okinawan to be traditional...for instance..i've also studied Muay Thai and teach a muay Thai based system of kickboxing...is Muay Thai traditional in your eyes...r kali and silat traditional...is savate traditional...when does traditional start and stop....just curious on your opinions..thanks
12/12/04 10:28 PM
ShiroRyu

Edited: 12-Dec-04
My 2 cents are that it is traditional if they teach the stuff they taught or teach it the same way they did 100s or 1000s of years ago.
12/14/04 7:51 AM
juszczec
22 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 14-Dec-04