UnderGround Forums

AcademicGround >> good article on Latin

1/5/05 11:33 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Buddhadev
21 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 05-Jan-05

http://www.lewrockwell.com/orig4/colalillo1.html hyperlink Almost inspires my decrepit old butt to try to learn it.
1/6/05 3:23 AM
SILK
5 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 06-Jan-05
Nice article. I like this part: "Latin can train a person to think in an organized way". When I studied law we had to study Latin for 2 years as part of the course. One of my friends got a job as an attorney. When she asked why they chose her over other candidates, they pretty much used that line. Another reason why with hindsight I appreciated having done Latin: English just makes SO much more sense now! And from Latin languages like Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, French and even German are much easier to pic up. Plus once you start seeing how all these languages relate to each other, makes it even easier. It's a pity that so many think of Latin as a dead language that deserves no attention:( It's one of the most mathematical languages out there
1/9/05 10:34 PM
Buddhadev
21 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 09-Jan-05
SILK, good post. Thanks. Some questions: Did you learn it in high school, college, or both? Does a person have to practice speaking it to get a true appreciation fo the language or is reading/writing good enough?
1/9/05 11:19 PM
SILK
5 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 09-Jan-05