UnderGround Forums

PhilosophyGround >> There is no meaning

2/16/05 1:10 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
vermonter
88 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 16-Feb-05

*The following is from a series of threads to stimulate some conversation. They do not mean i know anything about the topic, and do not necessarily express my opinion* This is about language, not life, but i think the meaning of life discussion could easily be a further extension, so please discuss. I want to say first, that there is no such thing as non-natural speaker meaning of words/statements as something totally seperable from natural meaning. I may be mixing up some of my terms here (im a novice in this area) but it seems as though NNmeaning amounts to natural meaning with some sort of intention added by people that grants the illusion of being different, when in reality the intentions themselves are mearly natural meanings too. Secondly, there seems to me to be no metaphysical meaning objects. There is a cause and effect relationship for sure that is construed as some kind of meaning. EG. "these red bumps mean chickenpox" only ultimately proposes that the virus causally creates red bumps. I think that human language, although obviosuly complex and bound with intentions, eventually reduces to to this sort of meaning. -doug-
2/17/05 1:48 AM
Dory
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 17-Feb-05
If there is no meaning in words, why do you bother typing them?
2/17/05 11:24 AM
vermonter
88 The total sum of your votes up and votes down Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile