UnderGround Forums

DantheWolfMan UnderGround >> Prison Guard Beating on UG

3/26/05 8:32 PM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
P
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 26-Mar-05

Check out the video and attached thread titled "Prison Guard Beating" on the UG. The video unfortunately does not include any of the pre-contact moments or the initial 'big bang' but it bears viewing and the accompanying comments merit a read "BJJ would have saved him...", and other 'armchair QB' comments that permeate the martial arts. I would be interested in an intelligent thread on it in this forum. Your thoughts? P.
3/27/05 4:12 AM
Adam LaClair

Edited: 15-Apr-05 04:32 PM
ImposeYourWill.com

Thanks for pointing this post out, Phil.  Here is a direct link to save people time in searching for it:
http://www.mma.tv/TUF/index.cfm?ac=ListMessages&PID=1&TID=572968&FID=1&pc=103

As some here know, I am a PDR coach, but also an avid submission grappler and BJJ practitioner/instructor.  What I find extremely ironic were these two statements:
"If the guard knew BJJ he would have been able to protect himself and probably take out the attacker."
"On the ground, he had no clue as to how to protect himself, obviously he's not a BJJ student."

Here, I will attempt to analyze and break the fight down, using BOTH my "BJJ filter," combined with my "PDR filter." I've watched the fight about 30 times or more, at both normal and 1/2 speeds.

1. The guard is seemingly taken by surprise, and gets hit.  His response is classic flinch-response, raising his arms and trying to protect his head.

2. Although still taking punches, the guard survives the "ambush" moment and initiates a grappling control, attempting to pin his assailant's arms to his own sides.  However, he gets hit in the side of the head (perhaps the temple - hard to tell) and drops to his knees.