UnderGround Forums

DantheWolfMan UnderGround >> Scenario Running

4/29/05 11:06 AM
Ignore | Quote | Vote Down | Vote Up
Marc McLellan
Send Private Message Add Comment To Profile

Edited: 29-Apr-05

I have much enjoyed running in the last year or so. I run with a heart rate monitor and run at (or just under 70% (which is the difference between easy and hard). Without getting into running, I run while playing various scenarios in my head. I tend to focus on past close calls and job related type scenarios (I work in a Federal Prison). I "play" the portion ‘just prior to' and ‘the actual attack' (the part you don't have time to think about). These scenarios cause my heart rate to jump, which trains that emotional content. A great drill for someone that trains alone. I have been doing this for a few years but previously only focused on protecting my family. Anyone do anything like this? Marc
4/29/05 11:58 PM
P

Edited: 29-Apr-05
Marc, I wrote a related article a number of years ago. You can see it in the articles section on: www.blauertactical.com All great fighters/athletes visualize, it's been a MASSIVE tool for me especially developing fight-ready cardio. 3-D training all the way... P.
5/1/05 8:26 PM
JMullings

Edited: 01-May-05
Yes, scenario training even in "your mind" can raise your heart rate. Running to increase your heart rate, will raise it in a different fashion and have different physiological affects than an increased heart rate due to a hormonal release. Puting your body under stress while attempting to create scenarios is a great training tool. Just be sure you are attempting to replicate or simulate appropriately Joe M
5/2/05 9:48 AM
Marc McLellan

Edited: 02-May-05